Don’t you hate being categorized?

20090302-webchat-wordle

What a bold suggestion right?!?! First, I know I hate being assumed for anything. Again, seek to understand is a theme. Our first week of grad school and we had plenty to read, and little did I know there was so much to read. Now I can’t complain since all of it was very interesting. Learning has never been this entertaining! I am excited for this semester as well as my next two years here in graduate school.

Where should we begin? Generation on a tightrope (GOT) was an amazing read. I could not remember a free-flowing read like that in a while. It was very insightful, and the text was coming across as a conversation versus a lecture. GOT is going to be a great read. Following that, I found the content to be very insightful, yet I was not comfortable agreeing with the content. I do appreciate the names and descriptions given to the generations of college students that have entered higher education since the 1920s. It was interesting to know that the categories/blanket terms given to the generations were formulated by the major events in which occurred during that point in time. There was a clear pattern with the generations as well, we saw progression through history for a more positive society. I became off-putting when they reached the generation we are in currently. The term “generation me” has been coined for the current students entering college. I have a tough time swallowing the notion of thinking solely for oneself.

The book does make a great point describing, “the names describe only a facet of generation, not the whole” (Levine & Dean, 7). This is a great transition to my next observations. The book provided four elements in which impacts the generations, and one of them is the world-wide web. I have fallen guilty of this machine, but I have never seen it as a hindrance for learning. In fact, I was raised to use it as a tool to achieve a level of academia unreachable prior. Please watch the links below:

What did you think of them? I know a little heart breaking for some of these students, but at the same time I was denying the invitation to the pity party. I do understand most of these students felt they were wasting time, money, and energy attending college but in reality not many get to experience college. Many of the “hardships”  described were too large of a classroom or not enough hours in a day. I remember when I used a floppy disc to save documents, I know that’s not to far back but many students in the film were playing video games. I’d love to hear the back and forth conversations about “hardships” these days so please ask away. I’ sure a first-generation minority student like myself can provide some real insight to these “first-world problems”.

Bringing this together, lets discuss how my blog can play out. One project for this semester is publishing a “persistence autoethnography”. What that fancy assortment of words is saying is I will be producing a personal narrative, with some backings from research related trends seen in the American college student. The first few steps include writing vignettes that expresses my time as an undergraduate. I am extremely excited, and scared at the same time. After given a few articles about personal narratives, and autoethnographies already provided, one becomes critical about ones writing style as well as what details to include. The articles provided were great insights on how one should be produced, and how I would go about creating one. I have always been an open book, so we will see how personal this relationship stretches. The grade will play a factor to see if it gets posted as well.

Thank you for reading and staying to the end. I will try to find a picture and quote that goes along with the mood and setting of the blog.

-Dani

Leave a Reply

